I saw these bowls at Anthropologie and reaaaallllly wanted to buy them. There is something about drinking coffee from a bowl…something that says simultaneously "I need serious coffee and I have the time to drink this whole bowl…without a handle!"

Latte_bowls

I didn’t buy them because I have issues with some politics of the company beyond the scope of this blog, but I have to say, they’re some lookers.

My best memory of drinking coffee from a bowl was (where else) in France, on the Riviera at a hostel (see, you were thinking "Wow, Riviera" until I said "hostel, weren’t you!?!). There were 3 guys there having and making our breakfast. I’m assuming at least one of them owned the hostel. The only other guests consisted of a couple–an older "elderhostel age" German man and his Vietnamese wife (approximately half his age). We all sat on a patio overlooking the Mediterranean, eating our baguette, and drinking our cafe au lait…from bowls.

There is a cafe near the Library of Congress on Capitol Hill–Le Bon Cafe–which serves coffee in a bowl. I love going there. I can sorta kinda pretend I’m in Paris for a few minutes.

Leboncafe